Where past meets present.
congress|graz features 19 halls and rooms with a total 2,900 square metres of space, and is the perfect setting for exhibitions, conferences (for up to 1,500 delegates), banquets and balls (maximum capacity of up to 2,300 guests).
The Stefaniensaal was inaugurated in 1885 with a major concert. As it had become too cramped, between 1905 and 1908 the hall was expanded, and the Kammermusiksaal and the grand staircase added.
Music lovers from Austria and abroad are still awed by the opulent decor and outstanding acoustics.
Despite its ine heritage building, today congress|graz boasts modern facilities, including an in-house radio studio and press centre. Add to that top quality catering, and a location in the heart of the Old Town, close to irst-class hotels and restaurants, and excellent shopping opportunities, and it is clear that congress|graz is one of Europe’s most attractive historic conference centres.
- 1883 – 1885
Reconstruction of the former premises of the Steiermärkische Sparkasse, a local savings bank, and the Ressourcensaal hall according to plans by the architect Mathias Seidl.
- 1885, 4 November
Opening of the Stefaniensaal marked by a gala concert in the presence of Crown Prince Rudolf and Princess Stefanie, after whom the hall was named.
- 1905 – 1908
Expansion of the Stefaniensaal and construction of the Kammermusiksaal. Addition of a vestibule and a spacious staircase, lit by a glass dome. Principal architect: Leopold Theyer. Well-known artists including the Viennese sculptor Johannes Benk (1844–1914) are commissioned to provide drawings for the interior design.
- 1977 - 1980
Redesign of the Kongresszentrum by Werkgruppe Graz. A courtyard in the northern corner of the building is roofed over and the Steiermarksaal built. Renovation of the concert halls and the Blauer Salon.
Major alterations supervised by architect Her-mann Eisenköck, in close consultation with the then managing director of congress|graz, Dr.Nikolaus Breisach.